Following the opening of the Wabash College indoor pool, Sugar Creek Swim Club was organized in 1969 as a year round swimming program and was chartered with the Indiana AAU Competitive Swim Committee. 

SCSC grew out of two former summer programs, the Crawfordsville City Swim Team and the Crawfordsville Country Club Swim Team. The team practiced at Wabash College in the winter and at the city pool and Wabash College in the summer.

In the fall of 1993 the team moved into the newly constructed Crawfordsville Aquatics Center where it practices year round. 

Josie Legg served as the first coach. When the Leggs moved from Crawfordsville, SCSC hired Wabash College students Rich McGinnis (1970-1972) and Steve Santello (1970-1974) as coaches. Bruce Hamman from the Wabash College Athletic staff was hired in the summers until 1974 when Dan Phelps from North Montgomery High School was hired. 

In the fall of 1974 Gail Pebworth was named head coach and she served in that position until the fall of 1987 when she left to become head coach at Wabash College. SCSC grew to be recognized as one of the best programs in the state under Pebworth, both in terms of developing swimmers and being active in hosting well run swim meets. 

Jane Coudret moved up from the assistant coach’s position to take over the club in 1987. Coudret also coached the Crawfordsville High School girls and boys programs. In 1991 Coudret took the aquatic director’s position at Concord High School. Jordan Hatch, who coached the boys program at Southmont, was hired as head coach with Laurie (Sieferman) Frye as his assistant coach. In 1992 Frye, a former SCSC swimmer, was named head age group coach. 

With the move to the Aquatics Center in 1993 a new coaching staff was brought in with Gus Arzner (aquatics director) overseeing the program and Tony Ressino (assistant aquatics director) as head deck coach. They were assisted by Frye, Jennifer Rice and Eric Verduin. 

Mark Hesse assumed command after the 2004-05 season with the departure of Arzner. Hesse, who came from a highly competitive North Central High School, and the head coach of Washington Township Swim Club, led SCSC until 2011.

In 2011, Kevin Hedrick became the head coach. 

SCSC was a charter member of the Confederation of Indiana Swim Clubs and has won the conference team title eight times along with numerous age group high point trophies. Sugar Creekers have won more than 140 individual and relay state championship events as well as individual the team high point trophies at the Indiana Championships. A number of Sugar Creekers have held state meet and association records and have been ranked in the “Top 16” in the nation. 

Two Sugar Creekers, Holly Humphrey and Josh Mikesell, were named to the 1986 Olympic Sports Festival Team, where Mikesell won two gold medals. In 1988, Sugar Creekers Chris Malott and Mikesell participated in the Olympic Trials. Mikesell repeated as an Olympic Trial qualifier in 1992 along with Humphrey. She was named to the World University Team and competed in the World University Games in Sheffield, England. 

Sugar Creekers have won 14 IHSAA individual state championships, held eight IHSAA records and have been named All-American High School Swimmers. Each year a number of SCSC graduates continue on to compete in all levels of college programs, where they continue to excel.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.