Gloria J. Long

Gloria J. Long, president of the Epsilon Omega chapter of Crawfordsville, recently attended the sorority’s national convention in Phoenix, Arizona.

The 111th national convention of the Delta Theta Tau sorority was held in July. Mary Jane Litz, PNP, Sigma Lambda chapter, Phoenix, Arizona, served as convention coordinator for the “Lights, Camera, Action” themed convention held at the Sheraton Crescent hotel in Phoenix.

National President Anita Waits, Theta Iota chapter, Delano, California, presided at the business meetings during the convention. Delegates from 62 chapters were represented. Attending from Epsilon Omega chapter, Crawfordsville, was Gloria J. Long, president.

A combined total from all chapters donated to philanthropic projects during the past year amounted to $693,889.85. The members supported their communities with a total of 130,102 volunteer hours during the past year.

Of philanthropic interest to members was the National Foundation for Ectodermal Dysplasias and encouraging professionals in the area of guidance and counseling. Delta Theta Tau’s educational grant program enables students to continue their studies in the graduate field of guidance and counseling. The 2019 delegates allotted $6,650 for educational grants, $10,000 for Ectodermal Dysplasias, and $6,005 for Spike’s K-9 fund.

Awards were given to chapters with the highest total amount of money spent on philanthropy and the most volunteer hours. Receiving the award for the highest amount of money spent for philanthropy was Xi Phi chapter of Marissa, Illinois. Receiving the award for most hours spent for philanthropy was Omicron Alpha chapter of Woodlawn, Illinois. Social activities enjoyed by members included the “Grammys” mixer, the “Emmys” informal and the “Oscars” banquet.

Delegates elected Bonnie Wells of Omicron Gamma chapter in Escondido, California, to serve as the new national president. Wells chose as her focus for her year at the helm of the organization, “2020 Perfect Vision — Clear Vision.” Delegates also voted to hold the 2021 convention at the Columbus Marriott northwest in Dublin, Ohio.

Delta Theta Tau, a national philanthropic sorority, was founded in 1903 in Muncie by five high school girls. The first national convention was held in 1908 at Elwood. The 112th national convention will be held July 8-12, 2020, at the Hilton Chicago/Oak Brook Hills Resort, Oak Brook, Illinois. Rise Buzzard, PNP, Alpha Delta, Huntington, will be the convention coordinator.

More from this section

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.