GREENCASTLE — Students in the Carnegie-Knight News21 investigative reporting project at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University — a cohort which included two current DePauw University seniors — are winners of the 2019 Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award and the Edward R. Murrow Award for Excellence in Digital Reporing.

Brooks Hepp of Fishers and Tilly Marlatt of Attic, were among among 38 journalism students from 19 universities whose work last summer resulted in “Hate in America,” a package of multimedia stories focused on acts of intolerance, racism and hate crimes across the country. Their work — 12 digital stories, a 43-minute documentary film and a five-episode podcast — won the the prestigious national award in the college category. The students conducted more than 300 interviews in 36 states.

“The RFK Journalism Awards program honors outstanding reporting on issues that reflect Kennedy’s passions, including human rights, social justice and the power of individual action in the U.S. and around the world,” notes ASU. “The winning entries were selected by a panel of judges in several rounds.”

“This project was an extremely challenging endeavor in which our student reporters were asked to report nationally on one of the most controversial political topics of our times,” notes Jacquee Petchel, a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist who serves as executive editor for Carnegie-Knight News21. “And yet, in every encounter and interview, they found ways to tell the story of the oppressed and the oppressors, not matter how uncomfortable.”

An English (writing) major, Hepp has served as editor-in-chief of The DePauw this past semester and is past sports editor. He’s also been active in WGRE and the Tiger football team and interned with the Reporter-Times of Martinsville, Indiana.

Marlatt is a Media Fellow who had recently been announced as the national winner of a Mark of Excellence Award from the Society of Professional Journalists. Active in DePauw student media, she has interned with Indiana’s Zionsville Times Sentinel and radio’s Bob & Tom Show. In 2017 she was awarded a scholarship from the Indiana Broadcasters Association

Students, accompanied by Petchel, received the award at a ceremony at the Newseum in Washington, D.C., on May 23. The 2019 of the Murrow Award will be recognized at the Edward R. Murrow Awards black-tie event hosted by the Radio Television Digital News Association on October 24 in New York City.

More from this section

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.