Athenians win Tiger Cub Invite

The Crawfordsville boy’s and girl’s cross country teams both won the Greencastle XC Invite on Saturday morning.

Drake Hayes was the top boys finisher, taking fifth in a time of 17:45, while Hunter Hutchison was sixth in 17:46, and Eli Widmer eighth in 18:05. Nathanial Million was 22nd in 19:10, while Cole Watt placed 24th un 19:17, and Luke Stewart 26th in 19:32. Arthur Ruano was 28th in 19:35, and Devin Burris 29th in 19:38.

Madison Fry was the girl’s race champion with a time of 20:27, while Halle Smith was third in 22:01, and Elyse Widmer was fourth in 22:13. Shelby Greene was 18th in 23:43, and Olivia Fichter was 39th in 29:11.

Athenians, Chargers and Mounties fall on pitch

The Crawfordsville girl’s soccer team suffered a 6-0 loss to Northview on Saturday, while the North Montgomery boy’s soccer team fell 10-1 to Sagamore Conference foe Danville.

The Southmont boy’s soccer team lost to Lebanon in SAC action 7-3.

Chargers, Mustangs, Mounties volleyball all in action

The Fountain Central volleyball team competed at the North Vermillion Invite on Saturday, falling 2-0 (25-4, 25-14) to Vincennes Lincoln.

North Montgomery compete in the Seeger Invite, dropping a 2-0 (25-10, 25-13) match to the Patriots, and 2-0 (25-11, 25-15) to West Vigo, and 2-1 (25-17, 17-25, 15-7) to Delphi.


announce Hall of Fame

The Southmont Athletics Hall of Fame banquet will take place on Saturday, Sep. 28 at 6 p.m. with awards at 7 p.m.

Reservations may be made by calling Southmont athletic secretary Jane Coudret or purchase at the office between the hours of 7:30 a.m. and 11 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. and 4 p.m. Email Jane at or by phone at 765-866-1144.

This years inductees will include athletes Tina Sowers (Track Class of ‘84), Cami Servies (CC and Track Class of ‘86), Jeff Hedrick (Swimming Class of ‘81), Samantha Williams Adams (Gymnastics Class of ‘08), Mike McCarty (Basketball Class of ‘85), Carrie Moore Rymer (Basketball Class of’91), and Darren Myers (Football Class of ‘83).

The 1998 boy’s golf team will also be inducted, along with wrestling coach Dave Duncan, special contributor Marilyn Davidson, and legend coaches Tom Bowerman (Alamo), Bill Bays (Ladoga), Harold (Jack) Hester (New Market), Glen Harper (New Ross), and Cliff Davis (Waveland).


Journal Review seeks

athlete nominees

The Journal Review sports department is asking for nominations for athletes of the decade. 

Any athlete that competed in a varsity sport at Crawfordsville, Fountain Central, North Montgomery and Southmont between 2010-19 is eligible to be nominated.

Please send nominations to sports editor Jared McMurry at or tweet to the Journal Review at JR_Sports.


Darlington Basketball to have reunion

The 1968-1970 Darlington boys basketball teams will have a reunion on Saturday, October 19 at 5 p.m. at Stookey’s in Thorntown. There will be a social hour followed by a meal and program. All players, managers, cheerleaders, and fans are invited to honor Hall of Fame coach Dave Nicholson. To RSVP please contact Rich Douglas at or call or text at 765-366-2227.

Senior Golf Results

Low scores led the way at the men’s senior golf scramble on Friday morning at Crawfordsville Municipal Golf Course.

Carl Wilson, Ed Roberts, Steve Burkle, Bill Combs, Steve Winningham, and Dwight Michael won with a low-score of -13 under par. Mike Fry, Larry Manlove, Joe Noble, Myron Watson, and Jeff Bartlett also finished -13 under par. The team of Dave Hart, Jay Fuima, Bill Myers, Mike Dozier, John Abney, and Bob Harris were third at -10 under par.

The proxys were awarded to Terry VanScoyoc on No. 9, and Steve Priest on No. 17. Watson won the 80 years old and up long drive, and took home the Ted Ratcliff award.

Sign-up for annual bean scramble

Rocky Ridge Golf Club is planning Duke’s Annual Bean Scramble with a shotgun start at 10 a.m. Sept. 29.

A six-man team format will be used with a minimum of 60 handicap per team. The first 20 teams can sign up at the clubhouse. Cost is $45 and includes cart, green fee and bean dinner. 

An optional skin pot is available

For more information or to sign up, call the clubhouse at


CHS 1989

football team to have


The 1989 Crawfordsville football team that was ranked No. 6 in Class 3A and went to the semi-state round will have a 30-year reunion on Sep. 27 at 1 p.m. at coach Schavietello’s house. The team will be introduced at halftime that evening at the North Montgomery/Crawfordsville game. 

More from this section

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.