All-Conference selections announced


The Sagamore Conference and Wabash River Conference have announced their respective fall all-conference teams, with a number of area athletes earning honors.

In girls’ golf, Crawfordsville’s Bailey Mittal was third overall at the SAC meet with an 89 to earn first-team honors. Southmont’s Macie Shirk, Taylor Grino, and Bailey Barker each earned second-team honors.

In girls’ cross country, Southmont’s  Faith Allen finished second overall to earn first-team honors. She was joined by Crawfordsville’s Shelby Green, who placed 10th and Halle Smith, who finished 11th. 

Crawfordsville’s Elyse Widmer, Gabby Warren, and Skylah Strawser each made second-team all-conference. 

On the boys’ side, Crawfordsville’s Hunter Hutchison’s sixth-place finish earned him first-team honors along with North Montgomery’s Elijah McCartney, who finished ninth. Southmont’s Mason Cass and Aaron Evans, along with Crawfordsville’s Ryan Miller, Ian Hensley, Arthur Ruano, Nathanial Million, and Roman Contreras all made second-team.

North Montgomery’s Sidney Campbell and Teegan Bacon highlight a foursome of Montgomery County players on the girls’ soccer first-team.

Campbell, a senior scored 18 goals, while Bacon, just a sophomore, set a school record with 22 goals, which was third most in the SAC. Southmont senior Marissa Craig led the Mounties in scoring and earned first-team honors, along with Crawfordsville senior Lauren Hale.

Crawfordsville’s Kaylie Miller, Southmont’s Belle Miller and Justine Troutman and North Montgomery’s Kelsey Anderson and Caitlin Burns each made second team. 

Kevin Barrera led the Athenians with 41 total points to earn first-team all conference honors in boys’ soccer. Emmett Bowman joined him with 16 goals, while Landon Timmons had 126 saves to earn first-team honors. Southmont senior Beckett Jett and North Montgomery senior James McClerkin also earned first-team honors.

Crawfordsville’s Eli Reeves, Edwin Gil Herrera, and Patrick Corado joined North Montgomery’s Cooper Bowman and Southmont’s Beck McIntyre on second-team.

Southmont sophomore Adam Cox went undefeated at No. 1 singles in boys’ tennis to earn first-team honors, along with teammates Luke Tesmer, Micah Korhorn, and Mason Hall. Crawfordsville’s Austin Motz also earned first-team honors.

North Montgomery senior Hunter Kashon and Southmont sophomores Harrison Haddock and Chayce Howell earned second-team honors.

Crawfordsville sophomore Macy Bruton’s 589 kills, which topped the Sagamore Conference, earned her first-team honors along with junior teammate Laine Schlicher, who had 565 assists, which was also a league-high. Southmont’s Sidney Veatch had 190 kills and 277 assists to earn first-team honors with senior teammate Natalie Manion, who had 342 digs.

Crawfordsville juniors Shea Williamson and Olivia Reed, along with North Montgomery’s Ashlynn Anderson and Trinity Schroeder, and Southmont’s Kaley Remley and Chelsea Veatch each made second-team.

In football, North Montgomery’s Zak Searle’s 812 rushing yards earned him first-team all-conference honors along with senior teammate Logan Kelly, who had 535 receiving yards. Jacob Braun also made first-team for the Chargers with 42 tackles, including eight tackles for loss. Southmont’s Carson Chadd earned first-team honors with 459 rushing yards, along with Riley Woodall and his 75 tackles.

Crawfordsville’s Alex Hernandez and Corbin Smith also earned first-team honors.

Crawfordsville’s Andrew Martin and Peyton Busenbark, North Montgomery’s Gabe Laws, Benjamin Pietschm and Nick Norman, along with Southmont’s Cale Hess and Collin Martin all made second-team.

In the WRC, Fountain Central’s Carson Eberly earned first-team all conference for boys’ tennis along with Nola Walls for girls’ golf.

Fountain Central’s Carson Pietrzak, Hayden Kler and Dan Adams each earned first-team honors for boys’ cross country.

In volleyball, Marley Massey earned first-team honors with 417 digs, while Lillie Fishero earned honorable mention.

In football, Austin Pickett rushed for 649 yards and 12 touchdowns to earn first-team all conference honors along with Cole Kirkpatrick and his 57 tackles.

Luke Adams and Luke Foxworthy were named to the honorable mention team.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment