2 Indiana banks win award for Commitment to Community


Hoosier Heartland State Bank, Crawfordsville, and First Bank Richmond have been honored with the Indiana Bankers Association C2C (Commitment to Community) Awards for outstanding community service performed during 2022.

Hoosier Heartland won the category of banks with assets below $500 million, and First Bank Richmond won in the category of banks with assets of $500 million and above. Together, there were a record 30 entrants across the two categories.

The awards were presented May 18 during the IBA Mega Conference in Indianapolis. The Association created the C2C Awards in 2018 to celebrate exceptional bank outreach and to raise public awareness of the diverse ways that banks support the communities they serve.

“Banks serve as economic drivers in communities across the state of Indiana,” said Amber R. Van Til, IBA president and CEO. “It is in community service and outreach that banks show their greatest value, investing in the welfare and lives of people. The nominees for the IBA Commitment to Community Award all demonstrate outstanding examples of community investment.”

The following banks submitted nominations for the 2022 IBA Commitment to Community Awards:

Asset Size: Under $500 Million

• Alliance Bank, Francesville – finalist

• Bath State Bank

• First Federal Savings Bank, Huntington

• Garrett State Bank

• The Hometown Savings Bank, Terre Haute

• Hoosier Heartland State Bank, Crawfordsville – winner

• Indiana Trust Wealth Management, Mishawaka

• Security Federal Savings Bank, Logansport

• Tri-County Bank & Trust Company, Roachdale

• Wayne Bank and Trust Company, Richmond – finalist

Asset Size: $500 Million and above

• Busey Bank, Champaign, Illinois

• Centier Bank, Merrillville

• Citizens State Bank, New Castle – finalist

• Community First Bank of Indiana, Kokomo – finalist

• The Farmers Bank, Frankfort

• Farmers State Bank, LaGrange

• First Bank Richmond – winner

• First Federal Savings Bank, Evansville

• First Financial Bank, N.A., Terre Haute

• First Harrison Bank, Corydon

• First Merchants Bank, Muncie

• First Savings Bank, Jeffersonville

• Horizon Bank, Michigan City

• JCBank, Seymour

• KeyBank, N.A., Cleveland, Ohio

• Merchants Bank of Indiana, Carmel

• North Salem State Bank

• Peoples Bank, Munster

• STAR Bank, Fort Wayne

• United Fidelity Bank, Evansville

All nominees are featured on IBA social media under hashtag #C2CAwards. Additionally, a summary of all bank nominations is available on the IBA website.