FCHS names three students as top of the Class of 2024


VEEDERSBURG — A trio of young women were named the top students of the Class of 2024 at Fountain Central High School.

Haley Marva Webb is the class valedictorian and co-salutatorians are Kacey Michelle Kirkpatrick and Lainey Jo Leslie. Commencement exercises are scheduled for 7 p.m. May 24 at the high school.

Webb is the daughter of Christopher and Krista Webb of Veedersburg.

Her activities and accomplishments include: all-conference in swimming and tennis; team tennis sectional championship; Spanish Club secretary; National Honor Society vice president; Math Bowl team captain; boys’ tennis manager, Sunday school teacher; math tutor; Most Valuable Player and Mental Attitude Award in tennis and swimming; Lilly Endowment Scholarship recipient; and Indiana Regional Academic All-Star.

Webb plans to attend Indiana State University to study communication sciences and disorders with a minor in Spanish to become a speech pathologist.

Kirkpatrick is the daughter of Josh and Danica Kirkpatrick of Veedersburg.

Her activities and accomplishments include: softball; softball team captain, All Bi-County, All WRC and Pitcher of the Year; basketball, All Bi-County; football manager; National Honor Society president; Spanish Club; class representative and treasurer; Fellowship of Christian Athletes; FFA reporter, secretary and treasurer; 10-year 4-Her; 4-H Jr. Leaders secretary and  president; travel softball; and National Rural and Small Town Award (2022-23) from the College Board.

She plans to attend Indiana Institute of Technology to study accounting and play softball.

Leslie is the daughter of Hannah Jo Froedge of Veedersburg.

Her activities and accomplishments include: National Honor Society; Spanish Club; Science and Spell Bowls; Education Professions Vocational participant; class vice president; and Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship recipient.

She plans to attend Ball State University and major in life science teaching and minor in Spanish.