School News

PHHS and PHMS perform spring concert


The Parke Heritage High School and Middle School music departments held their spring concert and awards program on May 19 in the high school cafetorium.

The concert began with the sixth grade beginning band. They performed the songs, “Regal March,” “Sawmill Creek,” “Montego Bay” and “Star Wars Main Theme.”

Receiving awards were Maxus Baldwin, Most Improved Musician, and Steven Myers, Best Mental Attitude and Most Valuable Musician.

The next group to perform was the middle school choir. They sang the songs, “Dynamite,” “Seize the Day,” “My Heart Will Go On” and “Don’t Stop Believin.’” Earning awards were Isabella Bundy, Most Improved Musician, and Ella Lacy, Best Mental Attitude and Most Valuable Musician.

The seventh and eighth grade band performed the songs, “Highlights from the Little Mermaid,” “We Are Young” and “Drive.” Awards were presented to Crafton Malicoat, Most Improved Musician, Lucas Hutchens, Best Mental Attitude, and Cian Todd, Most Valuable Musician.

The next group to perform was the high school choir. They sang the songs “Radioactive,” “I Will Remember You,” “The Rose” and “Beat It.” Earning awards were Ev Rutter, Most Improved Musician, Michael Clingerman, Mental Attitude Award, and Kimberly Koren, Most Valuable Musician.

The final group to perform for the night was the high school band. Their songs included “James Bond Theme,” “Air for Band” and “Bohemian Rhapsody.” Earning awards were Kera Boblett, Most Improved Musician, Ashlyn Hybarger, Bailey Jeffers and Aidan Gillooly, Best Mental Attitude, and Treyton Burgess, Most Valuable Musician.

Senior music seniors were recognized. They are Bailey Jeffers, Ashlyn Hybarger, Ev Rutter, Alison Nicholas, Aidan Gillooly and Israel Gleason.

The John Philip Sousa Award was presented to Alison Nicholas. The Sousa Award is the pinnacle of achievement in a high school band. Introduced in 1955 to honor the top student in the high school band, the John Philip Sousa Band Award recognizes superior musicianship and outstanding dedication.

The music director is Alec Moeller.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here