Strawberry Festival Queen to be crowned Saturday


The 19th annual Strawberry Festival Queen Program along with the 17th annual Junior Royalty Contest will take place Saturday at Crawfordsville High School.

The Strawberry Festival Queen Program has been a longstanding tradition in Crawfordsville as the program focuses on empowering contestants to reach their best self while enhancing interview, leadership and overall professional development skills.

Twenty-four high school girls will compete for the title of the 2024 Strawberry Festival Queen title and 16 children will compete for the titles of the 2024 Strawberry Festival Prince and Princess.

Queen title and 16 children will compete for the titles of the 2024 Strawberry Festival Prince and Princess.

Queen contestants are Rycah Brooks, Camy Cutcliff, Aubrianna Davis, Mikaylin Figg, Hailey Hester, Ada Hutson, Brooklyn Kerns, Emma Leonhardt, Peri McClaskey, Zoey McFarland, Addison Meadows, Kaya Money, Sydney Neideffer, Jazmen Newlin, Katherine Novak, Naomi Plunket, Cadence Richmond, Mariah Sanabria, Abigail Sayler, Guinevere Schmitzer-Torbert, Violet Shaw, Marleigh Sinnet, Ellie Walker and Emily Weliver.

The program will award a queen, first runner-up, second runner-up and Miss Congeniality who will reign of the Strawberry Festival, which is June 14-16 at the Lane Place. Other awards include a photogenic award, a mental attitude award and a humanitarian award.

Queen contestants are collecting items for Pam’s Promise and whichever contestant has the most donations in her name, will receive the humanitarian award. The community is invited to bring donations on the night of the program. Items needed include laundry detergent, dryer sheets, dishwasher detergent pods, toilet bowl cleaner, Windex, cleaning wipes, feminine hygiene products, magic erasers, all-purpose cleaner, scrub sponges, Lysol, cleaning brushes, multi-purpose cleaning cloths, towels, mini broom and dustpan, toilet paper and paper towel. 

Tickets will be sold at the door and are $7 (cash only) for anyone age 6 and older.

The Strawberry Festival Queen and Junior Royalty Program is directed by Jessica McClamroch. Assisting McClamroch are committee members Jayde Anzola, Mary Davis and Jewel Johnson. Sponsors for this year’s program include PNC Bank, Perry Equipment, John’s Trophy and Awards and JNAVISUALS.

Stay updated with the program by following The Montgomery County Strawberry Festival Contest on Facebook or on Instagram at the_strawberry_festival_queen.