Wabash announces new Lilly scholars

Three incoming students earn College’s most prestigious scholarship


Three incoming freshmen comprise the newest class of Lilly Scholars, recipients of Wabash College’s most prestigious scholarship.

Carlos Cantu-Trevino of Weslaco, Texas; Matthew Stitle of Carmel, Indiana; and Andrew Toney of Winchester, Indiana, make up the Class of 2028 winners.

Finalists visited campus in February to compete for the Lilly Scholarship, which covers tuition, housing, and food for all four years of a student’s Wabash education. The scholarship program was established in 1974 to honor Eli Lilly and his family, and the award is designed to recognize outstanding young men who show high potential and future promise. Honorees are young men who have the desire to impact the Wabash community and the world at large.

Cantu-Trevino attends IDEA Weslaco Pike College Preparatory School. He is the president of his high school’s Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica, as well as a member of the National Hispanic Institute, where he attended the NHI Collegiate World Series. Additionally, Cantu-Trevino is on the honor roll, has been acknowledged as the top performer in AP Spanish Language and AP Spanish Literature tests, as well as being acknowledged as an AP Scholar Award recipient.

Stitle attends Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School in Indianapolis, where he is a two-sport athlete who competes in volleyball and tennis. He is involved in the Raising Awareness for Animals Club, Book Club, and French Club. A National Honor Society member, Stitle is a two-time AAU Volleyball Academic All-American and has been accepted into a cross-cultural immersion experience through the University of Oxford.

Toney attends Winchester Community High School, where he is the top-ranked student in his class, a three-sport athlete, and captain of the football, wrestling, and track and field teams. He is president of the student council and chapter treasurer of the Future Farmers of America. Further, he was named to the Indianapolis Colts Academic All-Star Team, Rising Stars of Indiana, and was a Randolph County Youth Salute Leader-of-the-Year finalist.

“While this enrollment cycle was filled with uncertainty and anxiety around the FAFSA, our enrollment team welcomed the predictably high quality of candidates and programming from the Lilly Award program,” said Chip Timmons, Dean for Enrollment Management. “This year’s field of 18 finalists hailed from six states and amassed impressive credentials. Wabash College is fortunate that in addition to our three winners, seven of the 18 finalists will join the Class of 2028.”

The trio will join the prestigious ranks of past Lilly Scholars when classes begin in August. Recent Lilly Scholarship award winners include:

Class of 2027: Henry Chilcoat, North Little Rock, Arkansas; Alex Schmidt, Highland, Indiana; and Cole Williams, Indianapolis.

Class of 2026: Patrick Countryman, Indianapolis; Augustin “Gus” Sanchez, Carmel; James Wallace, Missouri City, Texas.

Class of 2025: Avery Dixon, Austin, Texas; Matthew Franz, Johnstown, Ohio; and Tommy Oppman, Niles, Michigan.

Class of 2024: Nathaniel Mertz, Albuquerque, New Mexico; Jesus Monrroy Mazcorro, Alamo, Texas; and Will Trapp, Brownsburg.

Class of 2023: Thomas Gastineau, Carmel; Andrew Posledni, Batavia, Illinois; and Cooper Smith, Sellersburg.

Class of 2022: John Reith, Leo, Indiana; Andrew Rippy, Saint Paul, Minnesota; and Devin Vanyo, Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio.

Class of 2021: Daniel Cuevas, Hammond; William Osborn, Chandler, Arizona; and Kaleb Wood, Indianapolis.

Class of 2020: Sam Stephenson, Kaohsiung, Taiwan; Sam Henthorn, Carmel; and Nathan Gray, Indianapolis.

Class of 2019: Matthew Hodges, Carmel, Indiana; David Vavrinak, Hubbard, Ohio; Cole Payne, Culver.

Class of 2018: Jacob Alaniz, Brownsville, Texas; Joe Reilly, Noblesville; Sam Surgalski, Traverse City, Michigan.