Club News

Delta Kappa Gamma Society


Delta Kappa Gamma Society-Iota Chapter, is an organization that is open to current and retired educators in Montgomery County. One of its purposes is to promote the professional growth of its members.

DKG is responsible to administer the Helen Hays Allhands Grants-in-Aid awards. She was a long time Montgomery County elementary teacher who was dedicated to education and professional development.

In 2005, her husband established a trust in her honor to be used to promote her dreams of assisting and encouraging those in the field of education. The trust is used to provide scholarships to local high school seniors who are pursuing a degree in education, as well as to members of Delta Kappa Gamma who are pursuing further education.

This year’s high school recipients are: Jenna Plemons (South Montgomery) and Olivia Reed (Crawfordsville). The scholarships are renewable for all four college years as long as the recipient stays in the field of education. The students who are receiving renewable scholarships are: Annabelle Laskowski, Megan Scheidler, Gracie Chapman, Hope Lighty, Alex Asbury and Sarah Chalmers.

Current active DKG members receiving grants this year are: Amy Carrington, M.S. Educational Leadership Program, Margaret Bryant, post graduate M.A. English courses and Mary Lou Dawald, Workshop for Art Educators.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here